The Technology Issues Committee of AMT created the Charles F. Carter, Jr. Advancing Manufacturing Award to honor academia's contribution to the advancement of manufacturing, especially related to members of AMT.

Annually, an active faculty member teaching at an accredited U.S. university will be considered for this award.

An award recipient is an active faculty member recognized by AMT as contributing to the advancement of the industry by:

  - Providing enabling research that has been put into practice; and
  - Is most respected in providing highly qualified students.

To receive the award, the recipient must be nominated by an AMT member and selected by the Technology Issues Committee of AMT.  Nominate a faculty member for this award.  All AMT members are encouraged to submit nominees.

2014 Award Recipient - Dr. Alexander H. Slocum

Pappalardo Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2011 Award Recipient
Dr. David A. Dornfeld
Chairman, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Director, Laboratory for Manufacturing and Sustainability
University of California, Berkeley

2007 Award Recipient
Dr. Eric Marsh
Department of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering
The Pennsylvania State University

2006 Award Recipient
Scott Smith, Ph.D.
Department of Mechanical Engineering
University of North Carolina at Charlotte

2005 Award Recipient
Dr. Kamlakar P. Rajurkar
Center Director
Center for Nontraditional Manufacturing Research
University of Nebraska-Lincoln

2004 Award Recipient
Professor Thomas R. Kurfess
Director, Carroll A. Campbell Jr. Graduate Engineering Center
International Center for Automotive Research
Clemson University

2003 Award Recipient
Dr. Edward C. De Meter
Associate Professor
Department of Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering
Penn State University

2002 Award Recipient
Charles F. Carter, Jr.
Vice President - Technology
AMT - The Association For Manufacturing Technology